Tuesday, May 26, 2015

"Knoxville Now" at Tipton Gallery, ETSU

 Knoxville Now at Tipton Gallery, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, TN

People # 2,3,4  charcoal and pastel pencil on plywood  44" x 43" x 4"
The ETSU Department of Art & Design and Slocumb Galleries in partnership with the Arts & Culture Alliance of Greater Knoxville and Urban Redevelopment Alliance present ‘Knoxville Now’ from June 4 to 25, 2015, at the Tipton Gallery. The exhibition features 35 current work in various media by Arts & Culture Alliance of Greater Knoxville members curated for the Blue Plum Music and Arts Festival in Downtown Johnson City. The public reception is on June 5th, First Friday from 5 to 8 PM, the exhibit may be viewed during the festival weekend on June 6 & 7 from 12 to 5 PM.

For the third year in a row, the Arts & Culture Alliance of Greater Knoxville is proud to partner with a community-based art gallery in the Southeast for the purpose of promoting local artists within each community. “Similar to the Alliance, the Tipton Gallery promotes and supports regional artists through rotating exhibitions and educational opportunities for the community,” says Liza Zenni, Executive Director of the Arts & Culture Alliance. “While many of our artist members are well known here in the Knoxville area, we want Johnson City to be exposed to their work, and we look forward to Johnson City artists receiving extra exposure here in Knoxville.”

Following the Alliance’s annual Members Show at the Emporium this past December, Karlota I. Contreras-Koterbay, Director of Tipton and Slocumb Galleries at East Tennessee State University, selected works to travel to Johnson City. Artists included in the exhibition are: Elaine Barnes, Yvonne Bartholomew-Thomas, Mark Bender, Ryan Blair, Bruce Bunting, Antuco Chicaiza, Claudia Dean, Mary Dodge, Brandon Douglas, Marty Elmer, Judi Gaston, Terina Gillette, Marta Goebel-Pietrasz, Carl Gombert, Jerry L. Hagaman, Hannah C. Holder, Kathy Holland, Julie Jack, Barbara Johnson, Diana Kilburn, Kate McCullough, Roy McCullough, Sharon B. Monett, Gloria Nelson, John Patterson, Elizabeth Porter, Julie Rabun, Norma Riegle, Mary Ruden, Dennis Sabo, Jenny Snead, Denise Stewart-Sanabria, Robert H. Thompson, Coral Turner, and Lida Rice Waugh.

In exchange, the Arts & Culture Alliance will present an exhibition of works by Faculty of the Department of Art & Design at East Tennessee State University at the Emporium from August 7 to 29, 2015. The Tipton Gallery is located at 126 Spring Street in downtown Johnson City. Gallery hours are June 6 and 7 (Saturday-Sunday), from 12 to 5 PM during the Blue Plum Music & Arts Festival (www.blueplum.org), Thursdays from 4 to 6 p.m., and by appointment.  For more information about Tipton Gallery or to schedule a visit, please call (423) 483-3179, email contrera@etsu.edu or visit
Location Information:
Tri-Cities/Community - Tipton Gallery

No comments:

Post a Comment