Monday, September 29, 2014

Contemporary Realism Biennial 2014: Fort Wayne Museum of Art

Contemporary Realism Biennial 2014 opens September 20
My plywood drawing installation People 41, 42 43, at Contemporary Realism Biennial 2014 at the Fort Wayne Museum of Art
Denise Stewart-Sanabria: People 41, 42 43, charcoal on plywood
Contemporary Realism Biennial 2014 opens September 20
Posted on September 17, 2014 at 10:00 am
News release from the Fort Wayne Museum of Art:
Contemporary Realism Biennial 2014 opens September 20
Featuring work from more international realism artists than ever before
(September 16, 2014) – America has enjoyed a long, rich history of Realist art from Colonial times to the present. The Fort Wayne Museum of Art’s Contemporary Realism Biennial is an invitational and juried exhibition which highlights the strength and innovation of the most compelling trends in American and international realism. In the course of the history of art, a singular quest has commanded more artists’ attention than any other: to render the objects in our world with accuracy, dignity, and grace. We are proud to expand the discourse on this enduring tradition in presenting the 2014 installment of this dynamic contemporary exhibition, on display September 20-November 30.
Cheryl Kelley   Cadillac   oil on canvas
The art in this exhibition presents a vast range of ideas, approaches, styles, and subject matter. Some artists are building and expanding upon the legacies of Photorealism, Magic Realism, trompe l’oeil, and urban realism. Others strive to capture light and texture, or delve into the psychology of the situation or sitter. Several create fantastic and macabre narrations, but all strive to achieve the unthinkable with their technical skills in making realistic works of art.
Park Hyung Jin    SiHyun  oil on canvas
Only 34 works were juried in from more than 700 entries from around the country, and 22 works were selected by invitation from the world’s masters of realism. This year marks the first time when the number of invited artists rivals that of the juried artists, a decision made by FWMoA President and CEO Charles A. Shepard III that was meant to elevate the status of this exhibition as a showcase for not just emerging realists all over the country, but also for the powerhouses of realism in established circles. This hybrid of emerging and established artists presents a dynamic exhibition with a diversity of artistic perspectives.
The FWMoA will award prizes to outstanding exhibiting artists to be determined by prize juror Frank Bernarducci, Director and Partner of Bernarducci.Meisel.Gallery, a prominent SoHo gallery presenting the finest contemporary realist art including established and emerging artists of the genre. Prizes to invited artists will be chosen by Charles. A. Shepard III.
CRB2014 will be accompanied by a distinctive, full color exhibition catalogue designed by the premier designer Alan Nauts Program Director, Communication Arts and Graphic Design University of Saint Francis, School of Creative Arts, featuring the work of the invited artists and a selection of the juried artists. The exhibition will be celebrated at the Fall Party on October 10 from 6-9pm at the Fort Wayne Museum of Art. Entrance is $12 for guests/$5 for Members. Main Street Bistro will cater, and the Freak Brothers will perform. On October 2, Chief Curator Charles Shepard will lead a Director’s Tour at 12:15pm, offering his unique perspective as the visionary for the exhibition. For more information, please visit the Museum’s website at

Exhibiting Artists:

Roberto Bernardi
Hubert DeLartigue
Robin Eley
Zaria Forman
Gabriele Grones
Gus Heinze
Park Hyung Jin
Martin Janecky
Cheryl Kelley
Tom Martin
Jack Mendenhall
Edie Nadelhaft
Adam Normandin
Alyssa Monks
Matthew Pierog
Bernardo Torrens
Doug Webb
Daniel Adel
Mary Jane Ansell
Travis Michael Bailey
Michael Banning
Casey Baugh
Mark Bush
Matthew Cornell
Nancy Depew
Vincent Giarrano
Takahiro Hara
Richard Heisler
K. Henderson
Philip R. Jackson
Steven Kenny
Elaine Kurie
LJ Lindhurst
Bruce McCombs 
Gregory Mortenson
Dora Natella
Jack C. Nixon
Alaina M. Plowdrey
Kari Rajkumar
Julio Reyes
Cesar Santander
Dan Scott
Daniel Sprick
Sharon Sprung
Denise Stewart-Sanabria
Alexander Timofeev
Melinda Whitmore
Eric Zener
Naijun Zhang